Have you recently received a traffic ticket while driving in Florida? You may be able to attend a Florida traffic school rather than pay for the ticket.
On top of that, completing traffic school may prevent your insurance premiums from rising due to the accident. So it makes much more sense to take the short, educational course rather than pay for the ticket.
Wondering if you are eligible for Florida traffic ticket school? Keep reading for all the details on finding Florida-approved traffic schools and removing points associated with traffic violations.
Why Attend a Florida Traffic School?
Traffic school in the state of Florida is also known as Defensive Driving or Florida Basic Driver Improvement. It’s available to those who have received a traffic citation.
At times, it may also be available to those directed by a court to attend the school. Plus, certain insurance companies may encourage it. As a result, you may receive discounts on your insurance policy.
If your traffic citation resulted from a moving violation, you could take traffic school to receive the completion certificate. Your certificate will be filed with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) upon completion.
Completing traffic school will remove points associated with the citation. It can also help prevent insurance premium increases, so long as the citation wasn’t the result of an accident. It may also reduce or remove the fine associated with the citation but is up to your local county discretion.
If you choose to pay the penalty without taking the course, you will receive points on your driving record. If you receive too many points in a given time period, your license will be suspended.
Driving privileges will be suspended if you receive 12 points in 12 months, 18 points within 18 months, or 24 points within 36 months. Each violation causes a certain amount of points, ranging from three to six per incident.
Eligibility Requirements for Florida Traffic School
The first question to ask is if you are even eligible to attend a Florida traffic school.
To become eligible, you need to choose the traffic school option within 30 days of receiving a citation. You must notify the county clerk where the citation was given. You must also pay a fee to the county clerk to elect this option.
The course will also be mandatory for several reasons. These include;
- Drivers receiving a violation as the result of a crash resulting in anyone going to the hospital, in which they are at fault.
- Drivers involved in two crashes in a two-year period, resulting in more than $500 in property damage
- Drivers cited for any of the following violations;
- Passing a school bus when the stop signal is displayed with flashing red lights
- Racing or spectating a race on a highway
- Driving recklessly
- Running a red light
There are also a few restrictions for electing to take the course. You won’t be able to take the course and remove points from your driving record if you;
- Already elected to take the course within the last 12 months
- Already elected to take the course five times over your lifetime
- Have a Commercial Driving License (CDL)
- Have received a citation for driving 30 miles per hour or greater over the speed limit
For drivers between ages 15 and 17 who currently hold a learner’s license, they need to drive for one year without a traffic violation. They can remove a violation by completing the Basic Driver Improvement course.
Best Options for Florida Online Traffic School
Are you looking to take traffic school in Florida online? It’s the easiest option for those who elect to complete the course after a violation or for those required to do so. Here are some of the top options, each with its price points and benefits.
IDriveSafely offers the state-approved Florida Basic Driver Improvement course for only $5.95. This is cheaper than their courses for any other state.
Because this is the Basic course, it’s only four hours long. Depending on infraction type, Florida also has an eight and a 12-hour course.
IDriveSafely is one of the oldest traffic schools available and is one of the most trusted driver’s safety resources. Because of their hard work and political lobbying, they are responsible for the approval of online traffic schools, which most people use today.
The course is available 24/7, allowing you to complete it at your own pace and on your schedule. Plus, you can choose which format you prefer; text, audio, or video.
Aceable is approved by the state of Florida for citations issued in Miami-Dade county only. But considering that Miami-Dade county boasts a population of 2.7 million or about 12% of the total Florida population, that’s a lot of people who can benefit from Aceable.
This 4-hour course is available anywhere you have an internet connection, be it your computer or mobile device. It will remove traffic violations and is also approved for car insurance discounts for county residents. Your completion will be automatically filed to the state and sent to you electronically.
The Aceable course is $25 and also comes with a free month of Allstate Roadside Services.
Improv combines the 4-hour Florida Basic Driver Improvement course with improv comedy. They’ve partnered with the World Famous Improv Comedy Club to ensure you have a smile on your face during the entire course.
They’ve won tons of awards throughout the years and are one of the nation’s top online traffic schools. It’s much easier to learn and pass the course when the content is both educational and entertaining.
The FLHSMV has conducted multiple studies to show that driver safety courses laced with humor improve learning and decrease crashes and violations in the future.
On top of that, you are guaranteed to pass the course and have your certificate filed with the state immediately. The Improv course is only $20 and allows you to work at your own pace, on any device.
DefensiveDriving.com has been around since 2000 and is one of the most trusted resources for driver safety and improvement. The 4-hour Florida traffic course is only $8.
They guarantee that the course will dismiss your traffic ticket. If not, they will pay the fine, up to $250.
The course is state-approved to reduce points on your record. You can complete it online with any device. Both a video-based class and a text-based class is available.
Don’t expect to be thoroughly entertained during the course. But given its low price point and no-fuss course completion, it’s a great option.
In-Person Florida Traffic School
Today, most people in Florida and across the nation complete traffic school online. It’s the most efficient option, as there is no commuting required. Plus, you don’t have to take time off work or away from family to dedicate four straight hours to a class.
However, there are several in-person traffic schools still in operation in Florida. These are few and far between and may require you to drive to a larger city such as Tampa or Orlando to attend.
Choosing the Best Florida Traffic School
Florida has one of the best traffic school programs in the nation, considering that only four hours of learning time is required. This is shorter than many other state requirements.
Almost everyone prefers to take traffic school online so that they can work at their own pace. This allows you to complete lessons at night when you have free time or between appointments, classes, or work breaks.
All of the schools listed on this page are approved by Florida and will automatically file your certificate. These are trusted schools and together serve millions of drivers.
If you are looking for the cheapest option, then IDriveSafely or DefensiveDriving.com is your best bet. If you’d like to be entertained and retain knowledge, consider spending a bit extra for Improv Traffic School.
FAQs About Florida Traffic School
Have other questions about taking a Florida Traffic School? Here’s what you need to know.
Florida Traffic School Prices
The cost of a Florida traffic school depends on the provider and the class type. Most will be taking the basic four-hour class. Florida traffic school prices typically range from $5.95 to $30.
How Long Is the Course?
You can expect to spend four hours completing the class for those who elect to take the Basic Driver Improvement course. This is the lowest time requirement to reduce traffic fines and remove points.
However, the state sometimes requires two other courses, one of which is eight hours and the other is 12 hours. The judge may mandate the eight-hour course in specific traffic incidents. The 12-hour course is designed for those who have had their license suspended and are working to reinstate their driving privileges.
Take a Florida BDI Course to Remove Points and Dismiss Tickets
Nobody wants to get a traffic ticket. But when you do, it makes much more sense to attend a virtual Florida traffic school.
They are cost-effective and only take four hours to complete, removing points from your driving record and reducing or removing your traffic fines.
Can’t decide which course to take? IDriveSafely offers the most affordable course. Learn more about the school here, or check out any of the options listed above to get started today.
Related Learning Opportunities
DriversEd.com Review: The Best Name in Online Driver’s Ed!
DriversEd.com is a provider of online driver's education courses, with behind-the-wheel driving lessons in California, Georgia and Texas.
Louisiana Defensive Driving Course
Take a Louisiana defensive driving course to keep a ticket from impacting your insurance or even get your traffic citation dismissed.
Colorado Drivers Ed
When it comes to Colorado drivers ed, finding the right driving school can make all the difference for a new teen driver. Get started today!
Texas Driving Safety Course
Taking your Texas driving safety course online is easy with the best TDLR approved provider. The all-inclusive price is $25 and we are here to help 24/7.
Indiana Defensive Driving
Approved Online Course for Indiana Defensive Driving - Whether you’ve received a ticket or are looking for insurance savings, welcome to your one-stop-shop!
Defensive Driving Waco Texas
If you received a ticket and need a defensive driving Waco Texas approved online course, we've got you covered. We answer the questions people often have.